History

A Journey Between Time and Space

Château Cramirat (or de Cramirat) is a 12th-century Templar castle in the village of Sergeac, Dordogne (Nouvelle-Aquitaine), southwest France.A French national historic monument, the château is situated in the heart of the Vézère river valley, a UNESCO World Heritage Site known as the Valley of Mankind.

The castle was built c. 1220 by the Order of the Knights Templar. It served as the order’s central commandery in the region and was the home of the grand master of the order in Périgord Noir (Sarladais) until the order was purged in 1307. In 1316, the commander of Sergeac, Guillaume de Crémirac, reinstituted the local community around the area and renamed the castle “Château de Crémirac”.

In the Middle Ages, the castle was a key administrative and cultural center of the area, and was one of the main departure points on the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage route, later becoming a pilgrim hospice.

Long before the Templars, the site was a thriving prehistoric settlement, evidenced by the rich concentration of archeological Cro-Magnon rock shelters spread around the area. The wealth of discoveries found in the area suggests exceptionally advanced paleolithic human activity dating back to c. 30,000 BC.

The château was affected by the 16th-century French Wars of Religion, as was the church nearby; both were fortified.

In the late 19th century and up until the 1970s, the place served as an important community center for the local society. Today, the château is privately owned.

The Château Cramirat is surrounded by landmark sites of immense historical magnitude, such as Castel Merle, Roque Saint-Christophe, the Lascaux caves, and the Abri de la Madeleine, offering insight into the evolution of civilization through ancient cave paintings, figurines, and rock shelters.

The estate itself is situated near an 11th-century church called Église Saint-Pantaléon (formerly, Église Saint Marie) that is recognized as a Templar church, and a 16th-century stone cross, the Croix des Templiers that marks one of the routes on the Camino pilgrimage route to Santiago de Compostela.

The château retains the original Romanesque two-story structure, with a rounded machicolated tower overlooking a fortified courtyard.

SERGEAC: Excerpt from the map Description of the Diocese of Sarlat and Périgord (1625), National Library of France (BnF)

SARZAC: Excerpt from the Cassini map (1783–1815), Géoportail

Map of the Diocese of Sarlat (Diocesis Sarlatensis), engraved by Henricus Hondius and published in Paris by Melchior Tavernier, c. 1630s–1640s.

Close-up from Map of the Diocese.

Historical timeline of Château Cramirat

  • Prehistory – Settlement by Neanderthals and Cro-Magnons; rock shelters such as Castelmerle testify to continuous human presence.
  • 1137 – Guillaume d’Auberoche donates estates to the Knights Templar.
  • 1139 – Geoffroy de Cauzé donates lands; in the same year, Pope Innocent II officially recognizes the Order of the Temple.
  • Mid-12th century – The abbess of Ligueux, through her prior Géraud de Salle, donates his fortress and adjoining lands.
  • Before 1250 – The region is under the authority of the commandery of Lempzours.
  • 1275 – Agreement between Hélie de Rudel and Géraud de Lavergne: Sergeac becomes a major Templar commandery.
  • 1275–1295 – Géraud de Lavergne serves as Templar Commander of Sergeac.
  • 1298–1299 – Bernard de Tayac serves as Commander.
  • 1300–1305 – Géraud de Lavergne resumes leadership.
  • 1307 – King Philip the Fair orders the arrest of the Templars.
  • 1312 – Papal suppression of the Templar Order; Sergeac properties are transferred to the Knights Hospitaller.
  • 1316–1326 – Guillaume de Crémirac becomes the first Hospitaller commander of Sergeac; the manor’s name “Cramirat” derives from him (Cramiraco).
  • 1362–1366 – Arnaud de la Coste serves as Hospitaller commander.
  • 1367 – English-backed forces capture and devastate Sergeac during the Hundred Years’ War. Reconstruction later follows under Marshal Boucicaut.
  • 1368–1410 – Arnaud de la Rivière serves as commander, overseeing the rebuilding phase.
  • 15th century – The Hosanna Cross is erected at the village entrance, carved with Christ, the Virgin, a knight, a monk, salamanders, and Saint Michael the Archangel.
  • 1593 – During the Wars of Religion, royal forces dismantle the castle of Sergeac.
  • 1793 – During the French Revolution, chivalric orders are suppressed; Sergeac manor is seized and sold as private property. Stones from the commandery buildings are reused in the village.
  • 1964 – The manor is designated a protected Historic Monument.